Obvious Observations with Brit: Technology

Oh, Technology! Thank you for allowing me to never remember my friends’ phone numbers. Thank you for giving me the ability to call out the incorrect “know-it-all” with the proper information via Google. But mostly, thank you for giving me the ability to creep late at night on friends’ and strangers’ personal photos. That’s the BEST!

When Parents Text

You know, we sure make fun of those poor older folks who try to be hip and join in on the technology bandwagon. The tagline for WPT is “small keypad, old hands” But sooner or later, we, the children of the texting age, will have feeble motor skills and poor eyesight. I can’t wait to see what brutal ways the following generations will make fun of us.

Kudos to those folks who are staying with the times by texting and emailing! I greatly respect them for that.  I love when my parents text me!!

Facebook

*stands on soapbox*

Facebook reminds me a lot of having crushes in junior high. Your self worth is dependent on whether you are accepted (He likes you too!) or rejected (He’s not interested!) Back then, this could make or break a girl. These days, we’re a bit desensitized. You make a nice gesture to friend someone, and they don’t accept your request. So then you analyze it. But why didn’t she accept it? Am I not cool enough? Does she think I’m a loser? I just don’t get it, what’s wrong with me! Then it just ends in “oh, whatever.”

Or what about when a Facebook friend deletes you? The same thoughts run through your brain. What did I do? I never post annoying things or send massive game invites!

To be fair, I’ve been on both sides. I’ve been rejected and deleted. I’ve also not responded to friend requests and *gasp* deleted friends.

When someone that I know of, but have never in my life spoken to, requests my friendship- I generally don’t friend them. Of course if we have interacted even once, I’ll add you. But if we’ve never spoken, why do you want to be friends with me?

Why would I ever delete a friend? It’s kind of complex and there are numerous reasons why. To be blunt, we’re just not friends, and I don’t want certain people in my biz anymore- could have been a break-up, bad influence, or maybe I’ve just come to realize that the “friend” just isn’t even an acquaintance anymore. A couple years ago, I did do a massive friend list clean-up, thinking that I should only be friends with people that I am actually close to. But, that was just silly!  Since then, I’ve friended people I’ve met all over the world, even if it was briefly. The thing about my current friend list, is that I genuinely care about the people on it, even if we met only once in Asia, were childhood friends, or just talked occasionally in high school or college. It is really fun to see where everyone is going, and where they ended up.

I’ve also realized that high school reunions are a thing of the past. The point of the reunion is to see how everyone changed: married, pregnant, rich, etc. Now, you can scope out the sitch in the comfort of your own home, without the rigamarole of questioning your fellow alums. I dig that.

Anti-Facebook

To my dear young Facebook friends: Please be careful. The pictures you post, the words you write, and the things you “like” are being seen by more people than you think. And it will forever be in cyberspace. Besides, don’t forget you were the ones who friended your older relatives. Do you really want Grandma to see those racy bikini pics and see you drop the F-bomb in your status updates? Probably not.

Let’s keep it classy, kids.

Smartphones

I am consistently in awe of what those fancy things can do, and super jealous that I don’t have one. In the break-room at work, everyone spends their time browsing the net or checking out Facebook. All I can do on my non-touch screen brick phone is skim through the pictures.

Even my dad has an iPhone now. Whaaaaat?!

I’m sure one day, if I ever become very busy or important, I’ll get myself a smartphone. For now, I’m happy with my flip phone.

This has been another episode of Obvious Observations with Brit.

This entry was posted in childhood, culture, cyberspace, family, friendly, General Public, internet, love, Observations, phases, relationships, silly, technology, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Obvious Observations with Brit: Technology

  1. Julie Pohlman says:

    Love that you are continuing to write. Even though it isn’t about traveling around the world, keep it up. I love reading it.

Leave a comment